The Solitary Pear

The Pear Pome

From the Russian River, from the valley of Ukiah
To the state of California, in a Gold Rush, in those covered wagons . . .

Contemplate with Conference, muse, Pomona with a Bosc
Seckel thoughts, senescent, Clapp, Anjous . . .

Homer spoke of them, "a gift from the gods!"
With their golden voluptuous curves, some poach in strawberry sauce!

So juicy, so sweet, grace, sophisticated, Nelis
Her teardrop, touched, of a buttery-flesh . . . of a red-freckled peel, Forelles

Mull with me . . . in Comice, Ponder o'er Packham . . .
Reflecting on, chewing over . . . Williams', Bon Chre'tien, and the Bradford's

Not anyone could tergiversate, no, not a single soul could bear
The lure of even, a Bartlett, or, of my poetic pome, the Pear . . .


- Copyright 2008 "The Pear Pome"
Kimmy Van Kooten



To all the kind comments, congratulations and words of advice from fellow blippers this past week, I want to say thank you very much!

Regarding the loss of my iPhoto library, I am in the process of retrieving (quite a few) images after using applicable software. Of course it came at a price, but I am more than thankful for being able to undo my horrendous error.

The outcome of this exercise will be determined within the next few days, but in the meantime I wish to thank Heinrich and Cecile for their support and effort.
Thanks also to Hans Viljoen and Dirk Neethling - without your advice I would not have bothered!
Friends can make a difference!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.