It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Taking the Piss

We live in a sanitised world, where many things are hidden from us. I watched the Don McCullin film again. He took photographs of the most horrific things, most resulting from the human capacity to hurt one another. Violence, greed and false perception between people, resulting in killing, famine and pain. Horrible as it may be, seeing images like McCullin takes are a reminder to us all that wronging others, whether petty or serious, is never good.

The sadness is that truth in journalism is rare because of greed or the need for some to tell stories that suit a particular political agenda or demands of advertisers.

I got off the train in a very hot London. I'm working tomorrow but excited about having an evening to myself here. I love the place. It's just non-stop stuff....people noise, a mixing pot of the whole world. I just wandered in the general direction of my hotel in King Cross. It's the smallest room ever, and £85. Perfect for one night though.

I walked across to Soho and just had to pop into the Rapha shop...not sou much for the bike stuff as the coffee. JB kaffee espresso from Germany to be precise. It was dark, rich burnt treacle, smack you in the chops stuff, perfectly extracted but I prefer NTP's Deerhunter by a mile.

Then it was off to the Photographer's Gallery which wasn't too far away. I was amazed at the 1950-60's prints by a Scandinavian artist (who's name I forget). What was amazing about then was that they looked like contemporary trying to be retro. I hate that word. Retro! It's used to describe anything pre-2005 these days...post modern to me. The annoying thing was that I couldn't appreciate the Gallery as I had gone too long without eating. 8 hours in fact.

Joyfully, I walked past a veggie place called Mildred's soon after leaving. Perfect. I had a mezze with spicy falafel, tabbouleh and loads of ruby jewels of pomegranate to give some zing. Eek, work budget blown again as I was still hungry and ordered pudding. The best ever tarte tatin.

It was a great day and I got some very cool shots. I like this one though. It's just funny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.