Light & sight

By CameronDP

Path

I think we all sometimes wonder how our lives might have turned out if we'd made different decisions at significant moments. Or is just me? I took today's shot close to a local school on my summer evening constitutional. The temple of learning in question is just off to to the left here, slightly out of shot. Schools represent one of the little crossroads in my own life....the only career I ever seriously considered besides journalism was teaching. Mostly I have been happy with the decision I made back then, but there has been the odd period when I have felt a twinge, and wondered whether I should have made the other choice.
There are certainly pros and cons to both. Journalism is creative and varied and you end up with a clear sense of your achievements at the end of the day when your scribblings are published or posted. But it's not a career with a straight upward path...and can be quite uncertain. With teaching you get a different type of creativity, a different type of variety, and a more straightforward career perhaps, but you're also a perennial political football for every political party that comes to power, plus you have to deal with.......kids! All day every day! Kids being surly, kids not doing their homework, sniggering with their mates, threatening to set their dads on you.....no, I jest of course!
I have nothing against kids.
I used to be one myself you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.