Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

BANNED!

My friend Vince Laws, artist, activist and poet, performed his 'Banned' art work tonight at the launch of the Pride without Prejudice exhibition taking place at St Margarets Church of Art in Norwich.

The piece involves him painting the faces of 76 people with the names of the countries where homosexuality is illegal.

The people who had had their faces painted then held up this banner, on which the names of the countries are painted.

It was stunning, powerful, and shocking.

And the Sing with Pride choir sang two songs during the piece:

We Who Believe in Freedom (cannot rest until it comes)
Something Inside So Strong

I cried so much (but still managed to sing) during We Who Believe in Freedom it looked like I had been in a wet t-shirt competition.

Oh, and I sold one of my framed prints and my workshop on event photography went down really well.

It's been a pretty emotional day, one way and another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.