... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Sensational Butterflies (3)

I went back to the Sensational Butterfly exhibit at the NHM today with a friend which was fun. It is only 40-45 degrees Celsius in there, so felt rather cool and fresh in comparison to the inside of the museum...
It is always such fun in the butterfly house: the species fluttering about in there change over time, so it has been different each time that I've visited.

This is a postman butterfly (Heliconius melpomene). It was looking rather adorable sitting on dangling from this spiralling tendril: the colours in the background are a combination of palm leaves and the back of one of the information boards.

It was very dark in there at 5PM today as the sky was very grey and overcast. I was instinctively rather freaked out by the ISO2000 that Auto-ISO kept aiming for (I've limited it to 2000 as a maximum), but was pleased that (but for the odd hot pixel) the pictures look perfectly usable with a little bit of gentle tweaking (increasing the contrast a bit, and sharpening). Modern sensors are cool. I didn't like to go above ISO400 on my D200...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.