The Creative : M making theatre

I had a very timely message yesterday from M saying she was going to be in the rehearsal room this afternoon if I was free to come along. First to take some pictures of her rehearsing her short devised piece and then take a picture of her for my Creative Fifty project. Having had the idea to mark my approaching fiftieth birthday by taking a load of environmental portraits of creative people the idea has stalled somewhat. I have discussed it with a bunch of people and said, 'oh yes, we must arrange something' to many of them, and yet for some reason I haven't managed to arrange any more sessions. I wonder if I'm scared that the idea will work better in my head than it does in practise. I just need to get out there and take more pictures!
The idea of this one is to show M surrounded by the props she uses in the piece, sitting there with her notepad in which she writes her ideas. We are obviously in the rehearsal room (at least I hope it's obvious) and I hope this is a good attempt to portray her in the midst of the creative process.
Now, I need to get back in touch with some people and hope they haven't been offended by my lack of action, and see about arranging a lot more sessions. This one was done and dusted in an hour and half, and the first thirty minutes or so was taken up with the rehearsal itself, so hopefully I'll be able to take each one inside an hour.
After the session it was back home to dump the camera gear and pick up my football stuff for the regular Tuesday game. Fortunately we were between thunderstorms, although we were only four-a-side. Lots of space, even with the goals pulled in to shorten the pitch. Our four started badly, slipping five goals behind. And I wasn't having the best of games - failing to beat the goalkeeper when one-on-one, or losing the ball in the middle of the pitch from which they counter-attacked and scored again. But then I had a spell that proved the adage - if you can't score good goals, then score ugly ones. Putting pressure on their goalie I scored three scrappy goals in quick succession, and then did my bit by dummying a long ball from S for I to run in at the far post to score. And again, moments later, for an identical goal. And once more, using the same little tactic - which really riled them. Especially as we were now ahead. We pushed out to four goals up, go pegged back to just one and ended up three ahead when the next guys called time. Very satisfying !
More thunderstorms in the evening, although fortunately they held off until after I got home so I didn't get wet. The weather seems to have broken, as predicted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.