Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Air ambulance

We spent the entire day at the beach in Filey. After visiting Scarborough and Bridlington, we think this is one really charming town and the most relaxing place for pottering around in the sand. A pastime which the kids can do all day, but for which I really regreted not bringing a paperback book along for this holiday. I did have a rationale for this: I had prepacked my laptop with lots of stimulating reading material that I should be reading over my break. However, I now realise that the only spare time I have for reading is by dipping-in while out and about with the family. Unfortunaltely, lugging around a laptop just for this is not terribly practical, especially when surrounded by sand and saltwater. Still to resolve this problem.

Early this morning I had a chat with an RNLI representative who was raising mone for her cause. I joked about whether they were saving up for a helicopter, and spookily less than an hour later an air ambulance helicopter turned up to pick up a little girl who fallen some 19 feet from the promenade onto the beach below.

This is the aforementioned air ambulance, sitting on Filey beach. It's one of those funky designs without a rear rotor to counterbalance the torque from the main rotor. I presume that's provided by exhaust gas ejected from the tail instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.