[blowfish]

By blowfish

tidy

Didn't bring my camera with me into the city today--it was both a conscious decision and not. Sometimes (just sometimes) you need to detach yourself. Or at least I do.

I spent several hours in the library and read Benedict Anderson's Imagined Communities in its entirety (it reads fast). Then rewarded myself again with another (longer) B-cycle ride to my favorite bookstore and then to a different brewery, the Wynkoop (Denver's first brew-pub and which used to be owned by the former Denver mayor and now-governor John Hickenlooper). Had a fucking awesome BLT and drank a few different things, with the highlight being a small batch stout made with freshly roasted Rocky Mountain Oysters (if you don't know, Google it). Certainly a gimmicky/novelty beer for the tourists, I'd say, but the stout style was delicately smokey and stood great on its own, additional ingredients aside.

Another full day planned at the library tomorrow then one final, big family dinner at Sazza tomorrow night, then it's off to meet Katie and Ari for some drinks on Pearl/Gaylord. They are going to look at houses up by the Berkeley neighborhood tomorrow, so it will be interesting to see how their experience is. According to my sister and her husband, the real estate market here has really surged back (if it even had a slump at all), so I will be curious to see how it pans out. Leah and I hope to be doing this same thing in a few years ourselves, though of course in terms of the Denver real estate scenario, that might as well be the next millennium, eh?

Anyhow, this is my dad putting cat litter into a bunch of old paint cans to dry out the liquid. The trashmen won't pick up paintcans any other way.

Tomorrow, I return to the city with all my camera gear and a sore back. These little Leica street rigs are looking pretty damn sweet, especially after watching this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.