The Daily Record

By havohej

Dead Kennedys Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables

Dead Kennedys 'Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables' (Cherry Red, 1980)

I first heard the Dead Kennedys skating at Scott Carroll's half pipe in Broughty Ferry in 1987.

I next heard them when Ewan Lind let me borrow his copy of 'Give me Convenience or Give Me Death' in 1989. After that I was tempted, but not totally convinced.

After that I watched the live VHS with Jon and I was hooked.

Jello Biafra is one the greatest frontmen of all time. His stage persona has influenced me every time I've taken to the stage and he is up there with Morrissey as the best lyricist of all time.

East Bay Ray's incredibly original and electrifying punk rock surf guitar snakes and slithers over the hardcore virtuoso rhythm section.

My mum forced me to take my bootleg 'In God We Trust Inc.' t shirt back to Cockburn Street Market.

I spent all four years at university sporting a rucksack with a lovingly self done permanent marker DKs symbol on it.

I met Jello Biafra on the night that In Decades Decline released our first album. I advised the then portly master - 'Delighted to meet you Mr. Biafra'.

Certainly one the most important and influential bands in history, this record is one of the best albums ever released. They never produced a duff record and their entire catalogue is incredible.

Dead Kennedys, probably the best band in the world.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.