Cowling Pinnacle

I'm still overcome by a weird lethargy. I suppose that in itself is a weird thing to write after deciding to take a long and hilly route home on the bike tonight, via Keighley, Braithwaite, Laycock and Cowling. Feeling wiped out after another hard day in the office I had decided to cycle straight back but the beautifully warm and clear evening was too good to waste. Whenever I had a choice of turn to make I found myself taking the one that took me further from home! I ended up cycling past Cowling Pinnacle and I decided to stop and walk the few hundred yards of path to get some pictures. It is a memorial to the sons of the local people who were lost in the First World War.

I descended from the pinnacle to cycle back through Cowling village and saw that the gala is on tomorrow. By strange coincidence the only other time I've been to the pinnacle would have been the one occasion when I ran the gala fell race, which must be all of 15 years ago now! Where have all those years gone? On my slow tootle home I got quite nostalgic for the days when I used to run these local fell races pretty much every weekend. There was a moment of madness when I thought I could pop over and run the race tomorrow - but it was indeed only a moment. I reminded myself that I've not done any running now for a month. I really need to get out and do some training. It would be nice to do at least one fell race this summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.