Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Caterpillar

Identification - Doleschallia bisaltide.

Clear blue skies today, so I decided to try another cuckoo wasp stakeout. The wasp passed me five times towards the end of the session, but did not land. Perhaps an hour later next time.

There was plenty of action, but not so much landing in front of me. I had a few flashes at carpenter bees, but they were way too fast for me. Had quite a few shots at the tiniest hoverfly in flight, but didn't nail it.

I found this caterpillar sneaking through the undergrowth. This is the larva of a particularly elegant orange butterfly that I blipped back in January.

Not much to write about today, except I am thinking about trying a cuckoo wasp decoy to pull in the subject. I need to find some shiny blue foil. I will have to indulge in some chocolate I think.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.