Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Giant of the wood

After some very loud thunderstorms and enough rain to water the garden for a week the summer weather returned with a humidity which felt very similar to Singapore's. We decided to walk anyway and went back to the part of the woods where I had been exploring by myself the other day before I got stopped by what I now think was a prankster in a visibility vest, as I haven't been able to find anything about a WWII bomb scare in the local news. The Sonian Forest/Zonienwoud/Foret de Soignes is a really big and old wood. Some of the trees look massive and very old indeed. This one stands on the verge of a steep descending road through it and has its roots firmly in the earth even if it is a slope ! It certainly deserves the name of a giant of the wood !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.