WATERGATE FOREST PARK

Another lovely day so I decided to get out into the countryside.

Got the bus to Lobley Hill and headed for Watergate Forest Park. The Park is located on the site of the former Watergate Colliery. Following reclamation work in the 1990s the site has been transformed and now provides a haven for wildlife and a great recreational site for visitors. A series of trails and paths take you through woodland, around the lake and through wildflower meadows. One of the meadows is on the site of a Roman Fort.

It wasn't very busy today - a family around the lake and a couple of dog walkers. I had a pleasant walk following the trail markers and came across some of the art installations. At the entrance is a sculpture called FLAMES TO FLOWERS. Further on I saw this TRIANGULAR LEAF SEAT, GREEN HEART and THE CRACKET.

My blip shows the view across the lake. You can see some horse riders who came thundering along. As well as trails for walkers there is a special trail for horses.

I had intended following the circular trail and come back to where I started and get the bus home but in the end I decided to keep walking forwards and into WASHINGWELL WOODS. It was lovely and cool in the woods. Just me - I never saw another soul.

I carried on walking until I saw some houses and fought my way through this PATHWAY until I reached civilisation. More walking until I got to Whickham village. Popped into Tesco ( more cherries were needed ) and walked home. Think in total I walked for about 2½ hours. I was ever so slightly exhausted when I got home. Sat outside and had a late lunch of grilled salmon and salad - with cherries to follow.

So a day of lots of fresh air and exercise. I should sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.