Scribbler

By scribbler

The Monsignor's New Clothes

The Monsignor after the vigil mass at St. Mary's Cathedral.

SOOC, by choice but also not by choice.
iPhoto said "read-only image" and I don't know why.


There are three beautiful places of worship within a few blocks of each other: two cathedrals and a synagogue. The leaders of these three institutions, whom I like to think of as the Three Musketeers, have formed a clergy group. They give presentations from time to time to which all three congregations are invited. (The rabbi always gives the best talks, with slide shows and music.) I've already blipped the Dean of the Episcopal cathedral, so today it's the turn of the Monsignor, the pastor of the Catholic cathedral.

A word of explanation. Priesthood is an order in the holy orders of the Church, along with deacons and bishops; these sacramental roles come through ordination. The pastor is the priest in charge of a parish; it's not his sacramental nature, it's his job. Monsignor is an honorary title. This pastor was recently awarded the honor, given by the Pope. I hope it came with a raise in pay - he's scheduled to offer four masses this weekend in less than 24 hours! - but I'm not on the need-to-know list.

The Monsignor was at the door chatting with the last of his parishioners when I tried sneaking in an informal shot. Too late. He whirled around and saw me. I asked if I could take a picture. Sure, he said, and immediately went into one of those stiff poses with arms clasped in front of him: stern, resolute, and rigid.

"No!" I said, "you have to do something!" So he raised his arms.

It's an ambiguous pose.
It could mean an expression of welcome.
It could mean a posture of prayer (known as the orans (praying) position, a part of the ritual in Catholic, Orthodox, and Anglican worship).
Or it could mean, "Take a look at my new duds."

The Monsignor has new clothes. The cathedral has replaced its vestments for priests and deacons, one each in green (for "Ordinary Time"), white (major feasts like Christmas and Easter), red (feasts of the Holy Spirit and of martyrs), purple (for Lent and Advent), and blue (for feasts of the Blessed Virgin Mary). Two orders, five colors, twelve thousand bucks. Not shabby!

He told us he ordered them in a size suitable to his small stature. I thought to myself, "Good! Then they will fit women."

I hope the Monsignor likes his portrait. Having seen the Dean's, he can't very well complain, can he?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.