SkiMe

By SkiMe

No Drama, Please!

Here is a tornado forming over my apartment. No drama.... happens every day, sort of thing. Not!!!

A cold front has finally pushed through displacing the high pressure system from Africa that has been keeping us nice and toasty over the last week. Tornados are not too uncommon in these parts as the hot air from the northern planes will mix it up with the cool air coming off the mountains. Some of the big lakes like Lake Lecco just above me create a nice funnel to bring down the cool air.

It was more or less stationary for a few minutes just hovering there in front of me - growing and growing - with the point turning into an actual mouth. You can see a video here. Finally it started to picked up a lot of stuff from the small industrial park at the end of the field. At that point we fled the apartment down to the basement. The funnel did actually touch down a few hundred meters to the North and I got a lateral photo from the garages downstairs.

More pictures on my Blipfolio.

I have heard sirens for the last hour or so. So people must have got hurt or from other collateral accidents... Supposedly a roof got taken off a building where my employee lives... he wasn't too anxious to get home though and prefered to wait out the storm. I wouldn't want to be caught out in the car during this mess in case another twister sat down beside me!!

It is absolutely calm now and starting to rain lightly. It is cool outside.

ps... in other news... another small tornada let down at our beach in San Remo early this morning. What's up with that? Who's got it out for me??? Crazy!!!

pss... just a few people hurt and nothing too serious. Was not the apartment building of my employee, but the roof of an industrial space where you see lots of debree flying in the air at the end of the field, on My Blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.