GRAPHOSOMA LINEATUM

This striped shield bug I found this morning at the top of a buddleia branch. Later she climbed down a bit.
There was a tiny spider nearby that jumped every second down, hanging in the air and climbing rapidly high up. I found this a magic sight, no way to catch her in a picture that shows what she did.
The morning had started with mist and the sky had been overcast. Only in the afternoon the sun shone brightly, a bit too hot to my taste, and now the sky is grey again and it rains softly.
Slowly the day progressed.
I have finished Les lendemains qui ne chantaient pas. The last chapter (Le coup d'Hanoi) was written in a difficult French due to the subject but I could easily see the similarity of the events in Vietnam and in the former Dutch East Indies right after the ending of World War II.
My new series is called La Drôle de Paix, 1930-1940, and it started with the terrible case and mystery of the Fire of the Reichstag in Berlin. Terrifying reading.

My haiku:

Living on top or
Climbing down a bit to reach
The juicier bits

And the proverb:

Zij/hij hangt haar/zijn geld op heggen en struiken.

Translation:

She/he hangs her/his money upon hedges and shrubs.

Meaning:

She/he takes no security when investing money.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.