Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

"Computer"

It's been another grey day here too. Wet, but in an annoying kind of way. Still got a few loose ends tidied up as a result.

Had planned to blip a cartoon from a nineteenth century copy of Punch. I had been watching the news coverage of the latest round of deaths in Afghanistan and I got pretty annoyed at the way things only ever seem to get done when somebody "important" is involved. I was even more conscious of the fact that we are spending an awful lot of money trying to bring democracy to a culture that is resisting our attempts at a time when our own institutions are seriously underfunded. Hence the Punch cartoon about telescopic philanthropy.

But I thought better of it. We're on holiday, we've just been out for a high tea (Scottish tradition I believe, main course, tea, toast and lots of cakes and scones) and I feel reasonably mellow. So, as it's now quite dark in the house, I decided to blip the lights on the son's computer. Have a good weekend everybody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.