Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Clouds over Dunsapie Loch

Silly though it is, I seem to be developing a cold despite the tropical weather. Last night I had the sweats - it was pouring off me, jammies soaking: too much information didn't sleep well again. I think an Almond Magnum just now has done the trick. That and a couple of paracetamols.

Spent a productive morning getting organised for going away again. The house is spic and span. I got the window fandangle out for a whirl, and put it away again - there has been no wind/rain since last time to spoil their sparkliness, so why waste time/energy?

Popped to the hospital to see Uncle A. I was careful to be in charge of the lift, and so I got the correct ward. But... NO Uncle A! Bed empty. Nobody knew where he was. Had he wandered off? Could he wander off? Last time I saw him he was firmly attached to his bed with a tube.

But no, we eventually worked out that he must be in the ward toilet. And so he was. He came out, sprightly as anything, fully dressed, hair washed and groomed from his first proper shower this morning. He's looking (and feeling) really well, and is much more positive about everything. Amazing what a decent shower will do for the soul.

The clouds were spectacular today, and often, when I'm in the hospital looking out, I can see them changing and turning ominous by the time I get out. But today they got better and better. I rushed home and we went for a wee drive round the park.

At Dunsapie Loch we saw the cygnets - four of them, really grown up. There was also a wee family of two tiny mallards, with mum, and another family, much older, of twin mallards. There were also some ravens, I think. Possibly from the top of Arthur's Seat. The most gorgeous wee boy was feeding them grass, which the adults at least, seemed to like. There was also a spaniel who swam round the edge of the loch with her owner. The owner was careful that there were no ducks nearby. Mind you, when the call came to come out, the dog just stood and looked for ages, not budging.

This is ten shots, merged. I wish the sun had been shining on the water. The old pooter was fair whirring and rumbling and complaining for ages before it spat it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.