Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Living Dangerously

I had a very interesting butterfly foray this afternoon. I fully expected to find fewer than when I visited the same spot last week. It wasn't as warm and it was also windier. The site itself was actually fairly sheltered and I immediately spotted many whites but what kinds were they?

I had to resort to using the telephoto lens of my camera and found that the number of green-veined whites has fallen and has been overtaken (at this site) by small whites.

For the purposes of the big butterfly count I recorded:
4 green-veined whites
6 small white
8 small tortoiseshell
2 meadow browns
1 ringlet
1 silver-Y moth

Later, and further away from human habitation, I saw fewer small whites and more GVWs including two mating pairs.
Both were difficult to isolate. One pair were down low among nettles and the other was in a gorse bush

My blip is of the pair in the gorse bush. Maybe the danger adds a bit if excitement to what is going on but it wouldn't be my choice of location.

Green-veined white - Pieris napi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.