Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

It's a moth

Identification - Melittia sangaica nipponica. Bee hawk moth.

Another clear sky, so another stakeout. I was losing a lot of shots because of movement, so today I decided to park the flash and have a go at in-flight shots. It was an inspired decision.

I have blipped this moth before, but at the time, I was convinced that it was some kind of exotic bee. This fundamental error obviously made it impossible to identify. In the coming months I did eventually find an ID, even knowing it was a moth, it was still extremely difficult as I only found one other image of it. Unfortunately, this was before I started documenting ID's. I know I wrote it sown somewhere but I cannot find it so now I have to start again.

Update - found it :)

This is an impressive creature. Smaller than the usual beehawks at around an inch and a bit in length. Its rear legs are covered in very long hairs that dangle beneath when in flight.

Often referred to as a humming bird moth, as it hovers in front of the bloom while feeding, as seen in today's image.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.