Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

A Willing Stranger

I was taken out for afternoon tea this afternoon by Horomaka - what a treat! I think he had a nefarious hidden agenda though, because just after the coffee and white chocolate + raspberry muffins arrived, he pulled out a package. It contained a camera, from Blipfoto! A black and white Ilford disposable camera for a Blipfoto project, called 'When You're A Stranger'. If you're unaware of this project, the idea is to capture on black and white film pictures of strangers, taken by blippers, from all corners of the globe.

Horomaka had intimated that this camera transfer could happen between himself and me at any time, but reality was different from just hearing about it! I felt like I'd been dropped in at the deep end. Rather than stew about it overnight, I grabbed opportunity by the horns, and asked the maitre d' if he'd ever heard of Blipfoto? He turned out to be a really nice guy, by the name of Will, so of course he willingly obliged, and hey presto, my blip for today. We were having our afternoon tea at the Curators House, in the Botanic Gardens, Christchurch. This is my digital version - who knows what the B&W version in the disposable Ilford HP5+400 will turn out like!

Yes, there was a photo shoot afterward, at the beautiful Peacock Fountain, the 185 Chairs Memorial and the Cardboard Cathedral. Thanks Horomaka!

And now it's my turn to pass it on !!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.