Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Old master

Lunchtime, and a short, but welcome break from the hubbub of being back at work again.

I took a different route today and discovered a disused school, and decided to have a snoop around, maybe I could get some decent urbex shots?

An abandoned car, weeds 1.5 metre high, a broken window and a torn, pink curtain.

Peering into one window I saw some artist's brushes in a jar on a table.
Suddenly, from inside the room, a head popped into view, I don't know who was most shocked; me or the man inside looking out.

He opened the window, we started chatting, naturally one of the first things I did was admire his oil paintings.

I was invited in, through the window. Luckily the outside wall was low, I had trousers on, and so managed to keep my dignity.

He started to tell me his story; he used to paint in a minimalist style, but the last four years his life had changed, and his paintings too, they had become more complex, chaotic. Like his life.

He was a perfectionist, and couldn't resist constantly adding a colour here, a circle there.
Only, he just couldn't get it right, and that was troubling him.
He wanted to get back to minimalist paintings, and he assured me he would do, once he'd perfected this one. But, he was old now, he said, and wasn't sure if he'd be able to finish it all on time.

I nodded, said I understood his predicament, and again admired his work.

He detected an accent he said (now, where have I heard that before?) and knowing I was English offered me a cup of English tea.

I declined, saying I unfortunately had to get back to work. Before I left, could I possible take some photos of his colourful pallettes? I considered them to be works of art in their own right. He smiled, and from behind his desk produced his 'favourite'.

Of course I could photograph the pallettes, but please don't photograph the paintings, because he just wasn't satisfied with them.
I wouldn't have dreamt of doing such a thing.

Photographs taken, I clambered out of the window with as much dignity as I could muster and said goodbye, I'll come back another day, when I have more time.

I wonder if he'll still be there?
I hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.