Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Infrared Lincolnshire Countryside

The forcast was wrong again (though could not complain about yesterday being the hottest of the year). It was supposed to be sunny up until ten o'clock this morning. And as I left the caravan at 8:30 I thought I bought enough time reach the above destinations in time (plus give my wife & son time to adjust in their get out of bed routine). The journey was a less-than-ten-minute drive away.
Set up camp - tripod, remote, IR filter/s.........then a huge fecking grey blanket of a cloud appeared out of nowhere! Then for the shot on the right, it rained.
All well before 9:30! Bleedin' weather people.

Anyway that aside, I still managed to pull off some shots for my Infrared folio.

Since shooting in IR I have taken a liking towards ivy & red brick. When we drove past this old farm building earlier in the week, I felt I had to make a special effort with a bit of early morning sun. Despite the "cloud" issue I still managed to extract something from it (had to up the ISO to 200 as opposed to the usual 100 and tighten the curves in post processing). Shot at 30sec, f8 using an R72 Hoya filter.

The second image was a completely different approach. I kept the f8, but used an IR850 filter & used masking tape in bulb mode as I needed a 5 minute exposure, like I did on Sunday evening. The noise is harsh even at 200ISO. I've left the noise reduction out so that it can be seen here, but will be working on it more in the near future as it is an image I intend to use at my club. I wanted the windmills to look like fans "blowing the clouds", seem to look more like massive pins stuck in the ground!

Forecast was wrong again this afternoon as we were expecting cloud and rain. But the sun shone & we could've gone to the beach (again). Had a lazy day around the caravan instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.