Bob20

By Bob20

The bread shop

Thank you all for enjoying my butterfly shots over the past two days. That’s butterflies done for now.

We leave here, hopefully early this afternoon and I hope to make Calais which is 750 miles. Tomorrow morning, the ferry and then the awful drive, on a Monday morning to Derbyshire. As much as I love it here, I do enjoy going home.

I must tell you about the bread shop, or boulangerie as they call it here. You can buy almost any type of bread and all of it superb. But by 5pm you may as well chuck it away or you have to stick it back in the oven! It will reheat once before it turns into a building brick. If you don’t reheat it, don’t eat it if you wear dentures or have any dodgy dental work. Its also great for exercising jaw muscles.

It seems to be a male ritual to buy bread. I can’t imagine its an Alpha male thing in England, but here, if you want to look cool, and be macho, preen your feathers etc., you have to be in the queue at the bread shop. Females not allowed of course. The queue takes forever. There are two ladies serving, both of whom love to show you their wares and have the most lived in faces and teeth. The Alpha male brigade seem to love this down here!

Anyway, I must tell you about the blip. I took this on my way to, guess where, the bread shop!! I had washed my hair, showered and put on my best shorts for the ritual. At the last minute, I lost my nerve and couldn’t take the shot in the premises I was so wanting to blip for the last two weeks.

So it’s a view out to sea by the bread shop! The horizon shows a combination of sea mist and cloud which was clearing fast as it warmed.

It's worth pressing L for LARGE.

I will reply to comments as soon as I can, I always enjoy reading them and replying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.