Ikol

By Ikol

Dark Places

"I have a meanness in me, real as an organ."

One of the absolute greatest pleasures of reading is how a good book can sneak up on you and totally consume you for a little while. So it is with Gillian Flynn's Dark Places, which I bought on a whim at the store yesterday after reading the first line, sampled above. (I wasn't totally sold until the last line of the first page, however -- "Draw a picture of my soul, and it'd be a scribble with fangs").

So instead of getting any actual work done today like I was planning, I curled up and read this novel. I'm not done yet, so no spoilers, but I'm really enjoying it so far. I don't even know if it's really a "great book" -- although I suspect it is -- it's just hit me at the right time and the right place and I can't put it down.

I have no idea what the picture above is. I knew I needed a blip today, and found this oddity lying around the house. So I snapped a picture and tried to make it as creepy as possible. Because seriously wtf is this thing and why was it just sitting on my fireplace?

Incidentally, if you look closely you can see my reflection in this one. This is becoming a chronic problem with me and reflective surfaces. Any tips from more seasoned photographers on how to avoid this? I like the angle here, but I can't think of how to get it without getting me, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.