Unseen from below

This alien (to the average Melburnian) environment was visible from the 14th floor of a tower block across the street.

At the morning tea (coffee for most of us) break in the meeting I came to Melbourne for, I looked out the window and was taken with this view; the effects of the sun and shadows; the many different roof angles. A marked contrast to the more modern style of flat topped buildings, except for the decorations.

Two things caught my attention more than the rest. One was the sign for the pub, the Duke of Kent. This sign would be totally invisible, I suspect, from street level. The pub does have signs at street level, and I wonder what possessed them to erect a sign at roof level.

The other is the mess on the roof behind and lower than the main building. I think it's probably the same building. I brought it up very large on my laptop, and it is totally junk, outside a wee shed with a rusted roof also on top of the roof. Where did all that stuff come from, one wonders. Truthfully, it is I who wonders!

Meeting went well; as junior partner to the Australian members, I was able a number of times to ensure our voice was heard. The decisions at this committee affect both countries, so it is necessary to be vocal.

Now in the lounge waiting for a 6:30 departure (8:30 NZ time) to land (ETA) at midnight.

Worth a look large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.