Glory Days...

By emkingcol

Mountain shadows

And so the sun goes down on our penultimate day and last night in turkey.

The shadow on the mountain is the mountain we are at the bottom of, if that makes sense! After the previous moon rise blip, it is only fair to blip a sunset.

Turkey has served us well. We have met some great people, eaten wonderful food, basked in 45 degree heat and drunk an awful lot of various local concoctions.

Most of all however, has been the time spent as a family. I see these three weeks as the only real time of the year that I can really get to know the children and enjoy ems company without the usual distractions back home.

I have given turkey a hard time in the past but cannot fault their genuine affection for our children and the effort they make just to put a smile on your face. To be fair, they are some of the nicest people I have ever met and that says a lot as I was present and active in Copenhagen;)

Had some fascinating conversations with locals regarding their views on the uk and the problems we see in turkey back home (which interestingly seems to be viewed as a very unimportant and tiny minority here).

We have all day tomorrow to enjoy before the journey starts at 10pm:( not looking forward to it.

Hate holidays ending, my favourite times are spent on them:(

Still, back to the caramel coladas (google it) and get that bass turned up;) I drove my car into a bridge......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.