Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Not a Swallowtail ..... BUT ....

.... I did find this (or more truthfully, it found me!)

Yes, it's been ages since I last blipped - but I just HAD to blip this White Admiral (Limenitis camilla) seen today at Strumpshaw Fen. I've been on 2 weeks summer leave, and today was my second visit there in search of the rare Swallowtail butterfly which breeds and flies in the Fen area of the reserve. Sadly, as per my previous visit a few days ago, there wasn't a Swallowtail to be seen. But my walk through the woodland trails eventually rewarded me with this beauty, another first for me. At one point extremely rare, the White Admiral has now thankfully made a resurgence and there are more to be found (though still not common). I'd almost given up on seeing one, let alone getting a pic - but suddenly I saw a flash of black and white above me and thought "Woohooo, it's a White Admiral!" To my delight it then plonked itself down on a leaf just in front of me and allowed me to take a few shots - this is the best of them - before flying off.

See it LARGER for best effect ....

I plan to return again to Strumpshaw (a RSPB bird sanctuary, as well as having woodland, fen and meadow trails with rare species of plants and insects) in my fevered quest to finally see (and hopefully blip) that damned elusive Swallowtail!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.