Glimpses of Me

By mimi128

Hospital Day 5: My Warriors (Pin Cushion Day)

First of all: I AM OVERWHELMED... I AM OVERWHELMED...

...by the amount of love and strength and all the support flowing through this community.. And I am overwhelmed to tears.. The good vibes flowing towards me, the thoughts and prayers, the encouragement for me to stay strong, good wishes, the hugs from people I dont even know but are a part of this big family, and took the time to drop by just to say those heart-warming words..


and to the people who made that possible -- you know who you are.. *palm on chest, head bowed down, tears in my eyes... I am speechless...

These are my two warriors, to my right is my champion and the king of my heart and to my left the other the kindhearted warrior..

And I am the one in between.. The bloated tomatoe pin cushion LOL! (Had to process it in mono coz the gown I was wearing was really red!)

Apparently, after yesterday's excitement, it wasn't over yet.. So their impression was that the fluid that was making me bloated was either ascites (misplaced body fluids) or massive haemorrhage and they were more inclined to the haemorrhage.. If I hadn't refused the operation, soon as they cut thru me, blood would be pouring out with difficult control and I'd have died instantly on the table. My King, holding my hand, not wanting to let me go, was distraught. So I had to decide..

The other warrior, on my left, with the hat on, further from the camera phone (which I might add wasn't me taking the pic, teeheehee, you'd think I was a magician!), is the kindly anaesthetist who wouldn't give up on me: Chriss Bauchmiller (lest I forget, and that would be so unforgivable). He had to look for a vein to put an IV fluid thru to save me. But once I was "stable" his job would have been done. He even came back after his hours of duty to see how I was doing, and brought his senior consultant with him to sort out my pain medications and IV fluid plans.
Today, he wouldn't have been at a loss if he would had left me at the mercy of the Gynae people (no disrespect intended) but when he found out I was massively bleeding inside, my blood cells dropped from 9.9 to 4.3 in less than 12 hrs, he pulled out of a busy ITU and went up to find a vein as he knew the others would only use me as pin cushion.. So I initially had 2 bags of blood transfused.. Now blood tests needed to be repeated to see if the transfusion was adequate. Here comes the gynae junior, looked once, stuck a needle and said, I can't do it. Oh if I wasn't too weak and if I hadn't remembered my oath -----?!!@£! Anyway, I asked her if it would be ok to call the anaesthetist and she said that's not her call to call another doctor just for phlebotomy! I just looked at her.. And told the kindly nurse, my other angel, Annabel Coe, who also went way beyond her call of duty trying to sort everything out for me to give it a try, and he came up, bloods sorted.. Pain controlled..

And then came the urinary catheter, which I won't go into detail.. Suffice it is to stay, I felt like she dropped a tiny piece of bead in my "va-jay-jay" delicate part and looking for it aggressively, forgetting she uses spectacles for reading! Ha! And the ordeal continues...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.