PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

City Lights

This is the beautiful city of Perth by night - what a gorgeous view from across the Swan River. This was an emergency late night (chilly!) walk down to the river because I didn't have a chance to pick up my camera all day!

First day of my new job as vet nurse at Perth Zoo and of course something out of the ordinary had to happen (my last three jobs have all had crazy first days!). Today we were all on standby for several hours for a potential code 1 (dangerous animal escape) as a suspended rope had fallen down in the orangutan exhibit which meant one of the orangs could swing out if they wanted too. It was all systems go getting darting rifles and pistols and sedatives ready if needed - thankfully they were eventually able to call both the animals inside by lunch and get the rope fixed!

Other patients seen today - poor little emperor tamarin 'Ben' who has been self mutilating his tail, two red tail black cockatoos, a crimson chat, microbat... oh and I ran some tests on some elephant wee!

Unfortunately I've found out the zoo has a strict policy on no photos of behind the scenes animal stuff on social media, on display animals are fine, but I only have a 40 minute lunch break .... so I may end up quite limited with my blip opportunities on work days - but promise I'll try and deliver some exciting zoo blips whenever I get the chance!

Thanks so much to everybody who has still been commenting and following my journal journey... I have some days off now and hope to start catching up with you all tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.