Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (The Mahatma)

I have wanted to post this life-sized statue for years. I was in the area so I finally did it. The light is all wrong. It's behind him. Sigh. Better now than never.

He was (and still is) such an inspiring person. This artwork is a fine statue in a peace garden at the Vishnu Mandir complex in Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada. I used to work two blocks up the road and would see it often at lunch. "Those Who Will Enter Will Find Peace And Tranquility" says the simple stone gate carving.

There is much to offer here: The Gandhi Statue, the temple, but also on site is the a soldiers' memorial, a multi-faith Wall of Peace, a Peace Garden/Park, a children's rights monument, and the Canadian Museum of Hindu Civilization! I had no idea until today. I will have to return for a more thorough visit. All can be read about via the Gandhi link above (VOV offerings submenu).

Another Gandhi statue (a bust) at York University that I blipped in 2011.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.