Road Trip

There are times when I appear to be a miserable cow, choosing all to often to stay at home rather than go out in the evenings. Last week, despite it being my birthday, I refused an invite to go out only because I relished the idea of an overdose of telly from my bed. I'm far from antisocial but my choice to work permanent nights gives my own space an abnormal appeal.

I had an invite to Cambridgeshire for a birthday party. I'd promised Christine I wouldn't back out this weekend and she made sure there was a dog box in the back of her car to make sure the dogs wouldn't be an excuse.

Intense traffic, so the predicted 2 hour trip took a lot longer. The Birthday Girl, Dee, and the rest of the family waited for us to serve an unmissable roast of Beef and home grown vegetables. Delicious!

After the meal, Christine, her Nan and I went into Ely. Whilst they enjoyed coffees in the sunshine, I coughed up the £7.50 to get into the Cathedral. Money well spent! It's one of those places I've always wanted to visit. I hope I didn't keep them waiting too long as I revelled in stunning stained glass windows and exceptional stone masonry. If I had known I might go I would have taken a wide angle lens.

I did get some good shots inside but Christine and I went for a quick walk about before going back to her parents. This shot, although barely half of the entire structure, is one of my favourites, taken from a road behind the Cathedral.

Thank you Dee, and Christine, for a wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.