Trying Out A New Camera

I have had a camera on pre-order, part-exchanged with some redundant Pentax lenses, for some long time. It was intended to replace my water-damaged Pentax K-x that has limited functions, and on this Friday the shop rang to say that the new Pentax K-50 had finally arrived, so I drove in to Bath to collect it. The K-50 comes in 120 different colour combinations but mine was wholly red, including the lens barrel, and looks very sharp. The K-x is usually paired with my 12-24mm zoom lens, but I wanted initially to try out the red 18-55mm kit lens that came with the new K-50, and had it all set up at the London Camera Exchange.

The first picture I took with my new K-50 was right outside the camera shop, and happened to be of some very shapely teenage legs, but I soon found bright red buses, street performers, floral displays and two lovely horses with a red coach in tow, all in the centre of Bath, in front of my lens.

After a coffee at the Holburne Museum gardens, I then walked across Sydney Gardens to the canal and along the towpath for awhile, and have chosen this scene, surprisingly close to the city centre, for my blip.

Leaving Bath after a couple of hours, I stopped for ten minutes in the scenic village of South Wraxall in Wiltshire, and again in Coombe Lane nearby as I had I spotted some Fresians in a field.

Marshall the cat provided a couple of poses when I went visiting in Melksham, and I found more cows on either side of the road just before crossing the bridge into Lacock, where a tour of the village, ending up with a pair of tabby kittens outside the church, concluded the first day's shooting, during which I had taken 100 pictures on the 18-55mm kit lens.

It was to be my last trip in Manfred, the car I have driven since 2001, as my new car was ready for collection the next day.

After my quickie blip of the previous day I was expecting to post up this day's blip a few hours later, but a leaky pipe in the loft put my study out of action and I couldn't sit at my desktop PC without being dripped on. Consequently I couldn't process my pictures, let alone upload them. The problem was finally traced and fixed yesterday and I have since been working on pictures taken over the last ten days.

L.
11.8.2013

Blip #1036
Consecutive Blip #004
Day #1225

Alternatives:
Bath
Horses
Canal At Sydney Gardens
Lacock Field With Cows

Trying Out A New Camera, 2 August 2013 (Flickr set)

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm

Bath series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Esther Ofarim - Long About Now (recorded October 1970)
On this morning I was listening to Scott Walker's album 'Til The Band Comes In. It was summarily dismissed at the time and had been out of print for twenty-five years before being released on CD in 1996, but has now been re-assessed more favourably. The first ten songs on the album were written by Scott Walker, and these were written quickly for the album while on a working holiday in Greece in September 1970. One of the songs was sung not by Scott but by Esther Ofarim, who had the same manager as Scott, and she does rather a lovely job.

One year ago: Liliput (near Poole Harbour)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.