Holiday # 4 Reading Railway Station

is undergoing a facelift!

Part of the Filterama Challenge for Mondays started by Hobbs Check out his blip for the day to see who else is joining in :) I have used Picasa and a brown neon filter to get this shot. My original shot is here!

At the moment, it is not good to be passing through Reading Station! Everything is such a mess and I feel sorry for anyone who has to spend time there waiting for connections!

When I arrived I had to take the escalator (I couldn't see a lift) up to the top of the new building seen here on the left of the picture from the platform. At the top there are no easily visible signs that say exactly where to go to get out of the station (and no customer advisors that I could see either)!

Eventually I found my way to a lift and went down to the main area which comes out by the old station entrance on the right.

Anyway, I was in Reading for a Consultant follow up appointment after my lump was removed (June 13th). I am pleased to say that I have been discharged, but made aware that if anymore lumps come up again, I have to call the hospital at once....

I went in early thinking I would go and treat myself to lunch at John Lewis there. I fancied a crepe, but unfortunately the creperie was closed so I ended up having an egg wholemeal roll, not nearly so nice as a creperie, but it did for lunch!

Then I hung around (which did my leg absolutely no favours at all and I'm in pain once more). I tried to go to the Reading Museum (closed on Mondays) where a lady told me that there was a place called Forbury Gardens. I went there and sat on a bench in the sun for a while until it was time to get the bus. If I had felt like it there were more photo opportunities there, but I was in pain by then.

Very glad to be home and chilling out with my leg up for this evening, this was not really the sort of day I wanted during my holiday week

In other news I dropped and shattered a lovely crystal (amethyst??) piece I have had for a long time today. It was on the bathroom windowsill, and I knocked it off as I went to shut the window before going out.

Sorry if it all sounds down and negative, but that has been my day...

I'm running a craft session at Church for our Holiday at Home for Seniors tomorrow which should be fun :) I'm not sure I will be able to take photographs though, as we have an official photographer, so I will have to look for a quick blip elsewhere.

Happy Monday folks :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.