An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Golden Grasses...

Good to get back to the 10mm ultrawide! Clouds are marching in from the west, capping this field of the most yellow grass I think I've ever seen! A polariser helped! I thought it (perhaps) looked a (little) like the flag of Sweden...(Hmm - what WAS in my muesli??)

I have to thank and re-thank everybody and all who passed by on yesterday's to congratulate and comment - and cast stars and hearts - onto my Calumet 'photo of the week'. It was a real surprise to me that it had been picked - and seemably only hours after I had posted it up. It's also been very near the top of the tree in the Spotlight folder, too!

In a kind of celebration, I have ordered (you all know what's coming next ha ha!) a mint used Nikkor 16-85mm f3.5-5.6 VR, to be used as my main walkabout standard lens. The lovely little Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 will still be used for low light and band photography, which was always its primary purpose. However, I was brought up on the effective focal length of 24mm and the wide end of 16mm equates to that exactly in DX terms. In London the other day, and in some street photos yesterday, the lack of some extra reach of the 17-50mm at the long end really showed up and I found too big a gap when I then fitted my 70-300mm.

The Nikkor 16-85mm is reputed to be a very good performer and one of the best standard zooms for DX Nikon SLR users - it's been around for over 3 years and the evidence is out there...I'm sure that we shall be very happy together...!

Housework had come a grinding halt, when you live on your own, if you don't do it, then it just sits there, piling up! London, good weather and Blip all constrain against such necessary activity but now needs must, else I shall go even more barmy! So, today is that day...Hope you all find something enjoyably constructive to do too!



Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.