atseacliff

By atseacliff

Garlic

Managed to get two bits of work finished yesterday so I set out with the goal of producing a shot which could be the final picture for my L panel for the Royal Photographic Society assessment in Bath in October. I have 9 other shots which I'm happy with and decided to add oneof a clove of garlic.

My initial attempts this morning were okay but I kept getting burnt out highlights on one of the cloves - matters got worse as the morning went on and even with a reflector I wasn't satisfied with the results - I decided what I needed was a light box. A couple of hours later having cut up a cardboard box, added tissue paper to the sides and a sheet of white paper I had a light box costing the princely sum of around £3.

The results were much better - I think the contrast to the left of the photo could be a little more defined and the garlic is looking rather battered after all the posing. I may have another go tomorrow however any comments welcome on this one.

One other issue - a white background showed up the need for me to clean the sensor so I'll need to research this in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.