Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

John's pigeons

Today I drove to South Shields to visit my good friends the Sharps. They regularly attend the Walking Festival and we've become friends through walking together. I was keen to see John's pigeons because I'm doing a project related to the North East. I had an image in mind that I wanted to create.

There is a wonderful view of Tynemouth Priory and of the North Sea from J's house. His pigeons are kept in a number of crees in the back garden. He told me a lot about the breeding and racing. This bird is about 15 years old. In his racing days he was a champion and has the record for the longest flight of over 600 miles from France to home. He was then a stock bird for breeding, but now peacefully lives with some of his offspring.

The sun was so bright that I never achieved the shot I really wanted, but I had a great time trying.

Then to the Freeman Hospital to be fitted with knee brace number 2. Arth is not very impressed but we will give this one a good go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.