Happy Day

The plan for yesterday was a walk in the Lakes but the weather changed those plans, the forecast for today was an improvement so we went for it. The drive up the M6 was wet but it was OK when we arrived at the car park in Langdale.

We headed up Stickle Ghyll through the usual queues of humanity, families with kids running ahead and then stopping at the side of the path, people with walking poles threatening to kebab you at any moment. Not somewhere I usually like to come for this very reason. When we got to Stickle tarn it was much quieter and by the time we got to Harrison Stickle we were almost alone. The wind on top was quite vicious and I was glad I hadn't worn shorts. We nipped across to Pike O Stickle where we could see a shower heading in from Bowfell, back towards Loft crag where we were caught by the rain so we descended the left side of Dungeon Ghyll. I hadn't bothered to put my coat on but luckily it wasn't long until the shower blew away again and we stopped in the sunshine for a sandwich.

Back at the car park after 3 hours on the hill we managed a pint in the Stickle barn where this picture was taken. You might ask why we are under an umbrella, it wasn't to keep the sun off us it was to protect us from the shower of rain that had just stopped - a bit of a changeable day.

Happy Day? well it was for me because I managed to get all 3 kids to come for a walk with me. In the picture, shot on self timer is Son, Myself, Daughter# 1 and 2 (Young1 lapsed blipper) and Daughter#1's boyfriend, TC between the two girls.

almost forgot to mention that today's stroll takes the girls' Wainwright total to 87 each, will they get them finished before I am too old to walk???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.