CATERPILLAR OF THE SYCAMORE MOTH

Latin name: Acronicta aceris.
I found her in my guide book, hurray!
Piet Hein and I went for a walk along the Weser with a purpose too, make some pictures of the horses in the field along the river, those we had seen when we arrived by train.
They were obviously all of one family, the brown horses, vigoursly eating. But they came to the fence to be greeted.
In Würgassen is a manege and three persons were riding rounds outside.
On our way home Piet Hein pointed to a Caterpillar that walked upon the path. Oh I shrieked what an extraordinary one! I was very happy that Piet Hein had seen her. I lay on the ground and took many pictures, but seeing cyclists nearing us, we helped the little creatures with some pieces of paper into the grass.
The picture is showing her there, soon she crawled and disappeared.
On the road her picture is here if you like to see it.
Just when we arrived home it started to rain, time for tea.

My haiku:

Will I see her once
More or only this summer
On her travelday

And the proverb:

Beter eene vloo vangen dan stilzitten.

Translation: Better catch a flee than be idle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.