Dizzy2302

By Dizzy2302

The sad demise of books

My favourite thing about being on holiday is doing the crossword in the Sunday paper though rarely can I complete it without my trusty dictionary and thesaurus. These days, however, all you need is Google and a smart phone and the moment you want to know something you can find out in seconds. However to use Google to help me complete the crossword feels like cheating whereas seeking answers from books does not.

I thought about this today when decluttering our spare room and finding myself with numerous boxes of books. It made me sad to relegate them to the discard pile but the fact is I don't really need them.

Whilst I love my iPad and computer I do feel sad the way books have been superceded by the World Wide Web. I think there's nothing more amazing than turning pages and browsing through all the wonders within.

Today's WWW might be fast, diverse, current and probably he worlds best information gathering resource but it most certainly does not teach us patience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.