Natasha and Melissa ...

... were the first gay couple to formally marry in New Zealand. They did so at the Ponsonby Unitarian Church, which is on Ponsonby Road, my One Street.

Today was a bit of an unusual day; the work that I did was very usual. I assessed a person and then wrote a report. However, I travelled by ferry to Waiheke Island to see the person, who felt unable to come to the office to see me.

So I anticipated getting my blip on the ferry or on the island.

My run this this morning started shortly before sunrise, and I got one or two reasonable pictures, until I was heading homewards along Ponsonby Road. There, I became aware of the rapidly forming fog over the city centre, which was quite rapidly obscuring the Sky Tower. This was appealing.

The best of those pictures (viewable in my blipfolio) was with part of the risen sun also visible through the fog.

Nearly back to Great North Road and the run home, and I saw the cameras and lights across the street, and a crowd of people; some in very fancy dress. I noted the sign attached to the church front, and realised that Natasha and Melissa were getting married. I thought "what a happy event".

It was only afterwards, having taken just the one photo, that I realised that today is the first day the new legislation comes into effect, and Melissa and Natasha are the first couple to marry as a result of this legislation. Actually, I only knew when told by S. Foolishly, I thought that it had all come into effect weeks ago.

Here then is a piece of history captured on camera at 0725 on Monday 19 August 2013.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.