Art on the water

This is Terry Bailey, a long-time waterfront artist in Victoria's Inner Harbour. He's one of many who hold a prized spot in that location to display their craft for sale.

His work immediately caught my eye: they are ink drawings overlaid on water colour backgrounds, displaying archetypal symbols and concepts, which speak of harmony and the energy and joy of life. Whenever I buy art, it tends to be of the naive, symbolic, or highly abstract type. And it is invariably on the spur of the moment: I never seek out art; it just seems to find me as I meander about :)

Nice first full day in Victoria, just ambling around and getting a feel for the city. Seems highly "livable." :)

Fun fact I learned today: Victoria has the only airport that has ever been closed because a whale found its way onto one of its two runways; authorities had to wait 9 hours for the whale to finally leave, before resuming operations. Its water airport features 2 runways and has its own, distinct, airport code.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.