spannarama

By spannarama

Happy drowned rats!

We did it!! We made it to the summit of Ben Nevis (Tim's broken toe and all). Our plan had been to change into our wedding clothes up there if possible, but it was just too cold and rainy, so that went out of the window. As we started the ceremony, the heavens opened and it starting throwing it down. Despite all that, it still felt absolutely perfect.

This is my first daily photo I've not taken myself, but I think it's allowable on my wedding day, and our photographer, Steve, did take this on my phone for me, so it counts, right?

We had a good climb to the summit with our celebrant, Ken, and our photographer, Steve. It's quite a long hard slog up there, but I think we made good time (I lost track of the time, but I think it was about 3 and a half hours). We got everything set up and ready to go, then Tim went and asked a couple of people if they would be our witnesses. He couldn't have picked nicer and more enthusiastic people - they were so lovely! They were actually brother and sister (and were there with their other sister too), and they were so keen and happy to to be asked to witness the ceremony. We all clambered up into the tiny weather station hut (behind us in this photo) afterwards for us all to sign the marriage schedule.

The walk down was quite hard going, especially for Tim, who was wearing one walking trainer (with the toe cut out) and one boot, but we spent the first hour or so floating on a little cloud of happiness!

Got back to the hotel after getting all our photos on disk from Steve, and found a lovely gift in our room from the staff there - they had given us a print of a painting by their resident artist, David Wilson - of Ben Nevis. I was so touched! We got showered and went down to dinner (again, we'd planned to wear our wedding outfits, but unfortunately Tim's suit was soaked, so jeans and t-shirts it was) - had a really delicious meal in our hotel, Lime Tree - absolutely perfect for our wedding night, and we were so glad not to have to go anywhere else as we were exhausted!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.