Resting Woodland Skipper

Just before I took this photo, I saw two of these tiny* Woodland Skippers (Ochlodes sylvanoides) doing what could only be described as an aerial nuptial dance near the last lavender plant in bloom in our yard.

This one rested for several minutes on a Japanese maple leaf, but my ability to keep her/him in focus, with my camera's lens at almost full zoom, was hampered by a fitful breeze that made the leaf bounce up and down.

Woodland Skippers prosper in a wide range of habitats, except for desert, and can be found as far north as British Columbia, south to Baja California, and east to Alberta, Colorado, and New Mexico.

I'm glad they like it here! Woodland Skippers are much more appealing than tent caterpillars.

*Wing span of 1 to 1.25 inches / 2.5 - 3.2 cm

(Phil found an unusual subject at the Wednesday farmers' market in Fairhaven today...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.