GREAT GREEN BUSH-CRICKET

or Tettigonia virridissima in latin language.
I walked the same path as yesterday, and although I heard the sound of many crickets and grasshoppers, I could not discover one.
A warm weather day again but not too hot for walking even in the sun.
Along the Weser in that direction it is a bit of a jungle along the path. Many big balsam plants with bees going inside the flowers, the thistles with seedheads, some blowing in the wind.
On my way back I listened carefully and at one point I stood and turned my ear to the sound and then I discovered the cricket in a tree, one picture and away she flew. I had not seen that phenomenon ever.
I had luck in seeing at another spot the Great Green Bush-Cricket on a balsam stem. A few pictures taken and one I was satisfied with.
I have seen another flying insect that I followed and took one picture of, not a good one because she was hidden partly behind some leaves, but such a strange creature that I have not yet been able to identify. Nature keeps many surprised still for me.

My haiku:

Grasshopper hidden
Or so she thought, only eyes
Peeping through leaves

And the proverb:

De noordenwind heeft over hunne vriendschap gewaaid.

Translation:

The north wind has blown upon their friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.