Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

40 shows in

After work Cyclops and I went to a couple of shows, meeting up with K for the second one and finishing the night with drinks in a pop-up tiki hut. As you do.

Fringe show 39: Aurora Winterborn’s Candid Cabaret
Another viewing of Aurora Winterborn’s Candid Cabaret, and I’m very glad we went as it was mostly acts we hadn’t seen before. Highlights for me were again the compare Julie Lambrini Jones (so funny), as well as Lucy on the hoop and burlesque act Magenta Lust. Big shout out in particular to the extremely impressive magician The Great Aziz. Not only was his delivery seamless but his act involves a number of doves and he really seems to love his doves. I think it is a nice quality in a man to care for animals and so on.

Fringe show 40: Meta-Reprogramming with Christopher Stewart (3.5*)
We didn’t particularly intend to go and see Christopher perform this spoken word session, but it was on at the right place at the right time. Christopher gave us a lecture on metareprogramming to seduce the ladies. I found it hilarious, I reminded me of Claudia O’Doherty’s lecture on soil erosion that I saw two years ago. As soon as it started I wanted to text my friend E and tell her about it, she would have loved to have been there. Well I laughed a lot, and enjoyed the audience participation. I thought it was a clever idea and Christopher dealt well with the spontaneity required of the concept. Afterwards, the session turned into a bit of a workshop where the audience chatted with Christopher about developing the idea. What a nice, interesting guy he is. We were then treated to a bit of original poetry. This show was absolutely not polished, and it wasn’t the best thing I have seen so far, but 40 shows in it absolutely made my Fringe with its raw potential and the opportunity to get a bit involved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.