RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Hotel Exterior

Exterior photos today for my hotel website client so another bright and early start. I knew these shots would be difficult, bright, white buildings with lots of deep, dark shadows. Even though the sun was muted by a slight overcast, it was worse than I anticipated. There was simply no way to capture the range of tones in one exposure, so I knew I would have to resort to HDR. With this in mind, I shot each scene three times and then combined the resulting images once I got them back on the computer.

This shot containing the La Ceiba tree is especially important to the owner. Her hotel was constructed around the tree and it is featured prominently in her marketing materials. A single shot contained a blown out sky and foliage that was too dark. HDR, while not perfect, maintained some detail at both ends of the spectrum and allowed me to capture a shot I would not have been able to get otherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.