monkeys

By monkeys

Cabbage Kofta

This is my absolute favorite dish in the world.

Yes, it's made out of cabbage. (Bear with me.)

This dish is made by combining three different types of flour (gram, corn and all-purpose), crumbled paneer (farmer's cheese), cabbage, a few carrots, ground cumin, coriander, garam masala and some salt to taste, smashing this mixture in a good food processor, draining it from liquid, patting the dried mixture into balls, deep frying it, and then smothering it in a very spicy tomato sauce, garnished with cilantro leaves.

It's a bitch to make, to be honest. But it became my favorite dish the moment my mom made it from a burst of gastronomical inspiration when I was twelve.

The first weekend I came home from college I knew my mother had really, really missed me because she made me at least three huge pyrex boxes of the stuff.

When I came home from the grocery shopping I found that something wonderful was frying in the deep fat fryer. I couldn't believe she'd dug this out of my most beloved memories again.

Ah, this is bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.