Under and Over

Lovely day today. Not too hot, not too cold...not a breeze. Perfect day to get on your bike.

False start...had to find working bikes from the myriad of two wheeled contraptions in the garage (we seem to collect bikes!). At one point I was reacquainted with my 28 year old Peugeot 3 speed bike.

Bought as a student, after working all summer - my bike and I were inseparable. It had a proper saddle, 3 gears (only one of which worked), saddlebags and you always carried a plastic bag to keep your saddle dry (soggy bottoms are horrible).

When I was at college I spent 10 days cycling round Scotland with 6 friends, camping and Youth Hosteling. It was one of the best holidays of my life - hail, rain and shine (all in one day!).

I remember the horrible climb up the hill in the driving rain into Oban, eating Glucose powder (with a fork) to keep us going till we found a food shop, itchy Youth Hostel bunk beds, trying to pitch a tent at 2 am in Inverary when we were all pissed on cider, swimming with our clothes on in the water above the fish ladder at Pilochry, using the hand driers at the Glencoe Visitor Centre to dry clothes, emergency roadside bike repairs.

But I also remember stunning views and lochs, the beautiful emptiness of Rannoch Moor, Glencoe, Killin, Stirling, Inverary, (the Rest and Be Thankful!!!) and GREAT friendships. Everyone has a coming of age holiday- I think that was mine. I grew up. I saw and heard things I had never seen/heard before (my lips are sealed!) and fell in love with Scotland - warts and all.

Just Like me - my bike is old and a bit rusty, my tyres are burst and a few bits are missing. But I would NEVER part with it. I look at it and chuckle.

Lovely cycle along the Canal with Mr S and No 3. Mr S took a tumble (first since he was 16 he says!) when his saddle came off. A few repairs needed.

Tomorrow I am off on a blip adventure ! Kids at school, Mr S at work - I'm heading to Kendal by train to meet an old fart friend !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.