The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Just Too Fast

Would somebody please tell me where I might find the slow-motion button in my life? It seems like it was just yesterday that I held her in my arms, mesmerized by the miracle of it all. And now, as of today, she is officially in high school. Oh my, this is all happening too fast.

I do not regret getting old. Each year has become more special than the last. Each year builds on the past. The structure of my life gets higher and stronger. But I am torn to shreds when I think how fast my children are growing up. I regret every time I must leave them in the name of business. I just want my time with my girls to slow down. I know it will not and should not. It is the circle of life. It cannot be stopped and it sets its own pace. Yet, I dream of finding the button that would turn each second with them into a minute. An unrealistic and unfair dream I know. But I have always been a dreamer. And dream on I will.

It was a wonderful day, a joyous day and a day of pride. But today was an emotional day for me. And I held back the tears. For the ninth year in a row, I ushered her to school in the tattered Fiat with the top down and the love flowing freely. I wanted the ride and this day to last forever. And they will. Not in the measure of time but in the measure of my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.